Mosteiro S茫o Bento da Vit贸ria


A concert cycle with scientific preludes


curatorship Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro



MUSIC4L-MENTE ushers in the year with the world premiere of Dreaming and Thinking, a work by American composer Bruce Adolphe, inspired by the writings of Albert Einstein and Ant贸nio Dam谩sio. Adolphe is a born communicator (he is also in charge of one of the scientific preludes), pianist and teacher, whose music 鈥渆xcites the ear and mind鈥. From Schubert鈥檚 famous Trout Quintet to the Fantas铆a of Spanish composer Joaqu铆n Turina and Schumann鈥檚 Fairy Tales, as well as several elegies by Shostakovich, Poulenc and Britten, MUSIC4L-MENTE defines a temporal arc that ranges from the 1700s to the present century and covers several periods in classical music. Internationally renowned musicians combine their masterful skills with the exuberance of Juventus Ensemble to perform the programme selected by curator Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro. The scientific preludes, which concern the intersections between music and science (from astrophysics and mathematics to the neurosciences), are prepared and presented by important figures of the scientific world.


curatorship Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro

co-organisation DSCH 鈥 Shostakovich Ensemble, Minist茅rio da Ci锚ncia, Tecnologia e Ensino Superior, Teatro Nacional S茫o Jo茫o

playing time 1:45 Ages 6 and up


16 february Schubert & Adolphe

Juventus Ensemble 鈥 Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Amia Janicki (violin), Tom谩s Soares (violin), Sofia Silva Sousa (viola), Pedro Gomes Silva (cello), Tiago Pinto-Ribeiro (double bass)

works by
Franz Schubert 鈥 Quintet D 667, The Trout; Bruce Adolphe 鈥 Sextet Dreaming and Thinking (world premiere)

scientific prelude (English subtitles)
Neurosciences and Music, Bruce Adolphe

27 april Mozart & Shostakovich

Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Esther Hoppe (violin), Christian Polt茅ra (cello)

works by
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 鈥 Trio KV 548; Joaqu铆n Turina 鈥 Trio C铆rculo, op. 91; Dmitri Shostakovich 鈥揟rio n.潞 2, op. 67

scientific prelude Astrophysics and Music, V铆tor Cardoso

29 june Schumann & Bruch

Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Christoffer Sundqvist (clarinet)

works by
Robert SchumannFairy Tales, op. 132; Francis Poulenc 鈥 Sonata, FP 184; Benjamin BrittenLachrymae, op. 48a; Max Bruch 鈥 Pieces op. 83

scientific prelude
Mathematics and Music, Jorge Buescu


Mosteiro S茫o Bento da Vit贸ria

R. de S茫o Bento da Vit贸ria 45, 4050-542 Porto, PortugalGoogle MapsApple MapsOpenStreetMap